Just Gimme a Little More Time!

In the first few moments of the movie Collateral, the taxi driver, played by Jamie Foxx, tells Tom Cruise’s character: “I’m not in this for the long haul.  This is just filling in—I’m putting some things together—I’m going to open my own limo service.” Cruise asks him, “How long you been doing this?” To which the taxi driver replies, “Twelve years.”

This is a classic example of how life happens.  I once saw a client who had taken a temporary job at a bank. He knew that wasn’t where he wanted to be; it was just a fill-in job while he did his real job search. That was fourteen years ago. Life just happened; he got used to where he was and didn’t take enough initiative to move on to a higher level of success.

Here is a step-by-step process for change (with example clarifications):

1. Clarify your current situation.

  • I have been in the same job for twelve years with no change in sight.
  • I detest the monotony of my job.

2. Seek the advice and opinions of other people.

  • I will ask four or five trusted friends or professionals what they would do if they were in my situation.
  • I will ask the members of my Sunday School class what they would advise.

3. Identify the alternatives.

  • I could go back to school and get a degree in education.
  • I could create a clear focus and do a job search with a company with some advancement potential.
  • I could start my own chauffeuring service.
  • I could request a manager’s position with my current company.

4. Choose the best alternative.

  • I will start my own chauffeuring service.

5. Act.

  • I will create my business plan in the next thirty days, give my two weeks’ notice fifteen days after that, aggressively plan to purchase my own vehicle by that time, and be open for business sixty days from now.

ferrari1

Whether it’s choosing a new school, a new place to live, a new car, or a retirement center for a parent, you must keep a clear deadline in view.  Otherwise, procrastination will lead to indecision.

The point is this: Don’t wait on perfect conditions for success to happen; just go ahead and do something.

Okay the Ferrari limo — that may be just my dream, but anything’s possible

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Just Gimme a Little More Time!”

  1. Victoria Says:

    I am in a minsitry job where I know the Lord led me 11 almost 12 years ago.. during these years I have donw lots of other ministry with this missions group other than just calling Churches and setting up appts…BUT this position isn’t challenging, it is boring, and its draining my desire for ministry. I did try to raise support this year so that I could do another position, but with the economy it didnt work out..so I feel stuck…and I don’t feel released yet as i have been praying lots about it..what to do?

  2. Cork Hutson Says:

    Dan – a very timely reminder, indeed. I love to write and teach, however coming from a “traditional” family, I have been expected to work to provide for the family without thought of whether or not it was the best fit for how God made me and equipped me. So I let the writing/teaching go for years. Now I’m in my fifties and headed in the direction I know I should. I am writing most days with a goal of one book by the end of this year.

    I love to read as well as write and teach and sometimes when I get home from my “day job” I have a tendency to reward myself with reading and it ends up taking much more time than I should be giving. Next thing I know is that it’s late, I have to get up early, and so the writing gets delayed another day!

    Anyway – this week I am on a business trip and said to myself, “I can get a lot of writing done”. Guess what I did last night after getting back to the hotel? I read a whole book! Then I read your article this morning! I always think of the line in a John Lennon song, ” Life is what happens while you’re making other plans”! How true. The years roll by so fast!

    Thanks for the reminder not to waste time.

  3. Jen Says:

    I LOVE this post. What a great reminder. Sometimes, as I do these littel tiny steps each day I feel like I am climbing such a huge mountain, but at least I am moving forward. What an encourager.

  4. Matt Says:

    Yes, eventually we need to get out of the same old grind.
    So I guess we are hoping the limo business takes off. What about saving-up? Starting small? What would Dave say?…..

  5. Timothy Mitchell Says:

    Thanks for reminder that my life is but a breath and as a flower that fades away……… Timothy

  6. Greg Malm Says:

    Dan,
    I just wanted to say that the Title you’re using for this article should be “Gimmie just a little more time” if it comes from an old 60’s or 70’s tune. I continue to monitor your website during these challenging times. Thanks for being there. Oh, I believe the band was Melvin and the Bluenotes.

  7. knowledge Says:

    Hello, I’m in the process of researching for a post that I am creating for my own site. I have found this post most useful and I would like to enquire if I may link to your post as it may be of some interest to my viewers? Kind regards.

  8. Life happens | smallbizsystemz.com Says:

    […] happens By Brian Phillips, on June 26th, 2010 Dan Miller tells a humorous, but insightful story about a limo driver who says that his job is temporary until he […]

Leave a comment