“In a tornado, even a turkey can fly”

“In A Tornado, Even A Turkey Can Fly!” is a quote from venture capitalist Eugene Kleiner. He understood that when the economy is strong, even bad companies can look good.  His principle seems to have application as we look at the current economy and workplace.

We know the job and business market have taken a beating in the last 2 months. In the five years prior to that it seemed any investment was sure to go up, any house would appreciate in value, even questionable products could be pushed through with flashy marketing and “just doing your job” could still get you a paycheck.  Now it’s pretty clear we are in the downward turn of a cycle – or perhaps it should be called a cleansing, a purging or a healthy realignment.  Wall Street is admitting that many of the “investments” they sold us were nothing but smoke and mirrors.  Houses do not automatically just appreciate in value.  Interest only mortgages are a really bad proposition.  Starbucks cannot just keep adding new locations without careful planning. 

But we also know that great people prove themselves in tough times, not easy ones. Butterflies don’t fall out of trees; they first struggle relentlessly to push out of the cocoon.  Great people survive adversity by returning to integrity, character and hard work. 

In No More Mondays I outline the five characteristics we see in highly successful people:

  • Passion
  • Determination
  • Talent
  • Self-Discipline
  • Faith

Those characteristics will allow you to survive this cycle, and to thrive in the next five years.  This is a time to clearly identify your strongest areas of competence. “Turkeys” will fall back to the ground — but YOU are not one of them – you can find those unique opportunities and soar even in tough times. And remember, this is a cycle. If you focus on the “downturn” you will be discouraged. Focus on the “cycle” and prepare now to take full advantage of the inevitable upswing.

A tornado is a temporary and artificial environment.  Don’t depend on one to create artificial success either.

Tags: , , ,

12 Responses to ““In a tornado, even a turkey can fly””

  1. Ann Musico Says:

    I agree wholeheartedly. In fact I am in the process of starting a business right now. I happen to think that as long as God is the center of my life, which He is, whatever goes on around me in the world will not be able to negatively affect me. I do what Proverbs says – trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not to your own understanding – in all your ways trust Him and He shall direct your paths.

    You have such a wonderfully unique way of expressing these ideas and I love it!

  2. Carl McDonald Says:

    I really appreciate your short articles They are the best. Common sense and practicle down to earth stuff I have seen in many years. Wisdom like this can only be influenced by the Holy scriptures. Thanks so very ;much. May God bless you and your work.
    Dr. Carl McDonald

  3. Richard Waddell Says:

    Dan,
    Could I reprint this article in my newsletter? I will make sure that it has a link to your site, as well.

    Thanks,
    Richard Waddell
    Dave Ramsey
    CERTIFIED COUNSELOR
    WORKPLACE TRAINER

  4. Gary Fisher Says:

    A few years ago my wife and I looked at some riverfront property in a rural area not far from our home here in beautiful West Michigan. Wild turkeys are almost as common here as deer; often it’s necessary to stop the car on a back road to let a flock of the huge birds cross or amble out of the roadway.

    But we were entirely unprepared as we walked around that shoreline home to find dozens of fully-grown wild turkeys perched in the trees or hurtling like cannonballs from hilltop to branch as we approached. Since that time we have even witnessed the same in our own neighborhood as the population of wild turkeys continues to increase, recently watching two in a tree across the street from our picture window as they surveyed the landscape high above the rest of their wandering flock.

    While they won’t be seen migrating in formation like the geese overhead on this sunny autumn morning, turkeys have the good sense to ignore the opinions of those who say they are permanently tethered to the earth; if a turkey makes up his mind to fly, he will succeed.

    Our success does not depend on – and cannot be limited by – the opinions of others. If we refuse to doubt our God-given abilities, we will succeed.

  5. Dead-end Worker Says:

    Integrity, character, and hard work don’t get you very far in a dead-end menial job.

  6. Dale Dorsett Says:

    I am simply trusting God what what I can not afford and what I have no support for. I am an inventor and I believe in the abilities God has given me. I do what I can but can only make small steps because of our financial condition.
    I desired, just for the purpose of getting inventions started – lost count at about 150 (target just a few) – of getting some kind of business across the internet. I keep research on scams and am a frustrated with seemingly only finding scams. Everybody wants something for nothing and usually you buy nothing but heartache and loss of resources.
    I am in a poor area where people think in the box – I don’t. What support? I trust God, He is the one that encourages me to invent!!!
    I just want avenues to make resources so that I can sell some of my inventions. I don’t like feeling boxed in – what would you suggest? How can this group help me? I want partners and support so many can prosper – it is not just about me!

  7. Charlie Says:

    Dan, thank you for your newsletter. Since 2005 I have been kicked in the mouth three different times. Divorce, road construction in front of my car wash buisness (18-months) and a poor economy. One way or another I’m going to over come everything and will only be a better person in the long run. Thank you for your inspiring books and newsletters.

  8. Carlos Says:

    Great advice on focusing on the “cycle” with the fear going around right now people tend to panic and not think things clearly.

    The situation seems very dark right now but as in every cycle things will turn around and people should try to be ready when it does.

  9. Dillon Says:

    Excellent site. Lots of useful info here. I’m sending it to some buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And naturally, thank you for your effort!

  10. Marko Says:

    It’s very easy to find out any matter on web as compared to textbooks,
    as I found this article at this web page.

  11. online shopping Says:

    Thanks for finally writing about >In a tornado, even a
    turkey can fly | Dan Miller’s Blog <Liked it!

  12. stairstep trading Says:

    Normally I don’t learn post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to take a look at and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite great article.

Leave a comment